And the adventure begins….

My husband and I decided a year ago that we wanted to build a house and live in the mountains. We thought Tennessee would be a lovely place to do that. HA!…we were so far off the map. After researching and exploring different places, we were pointed towards a small town in northwest Idaho. In May of 2010, we visited that town and fell in love. 6 months later, we packed up our junk and moved out west!

We are still trying to adjust. We moved 3,000 miles across the country to a smaller house. We are in a different time zone….3 hours behind what we are used to. And it has snowed since the day we got here on November 17th. That is probably our biggest adjustment so far, the snow. Our lives before were go go go. Gotta go here, gotta do that, just gotta do something to keep up with the craziness. Life was hectic. Here? It feels like someone hit the breaks…hard. We’ve gone from 60 to 0 in .6 seconds and I think I cracked my head on the windshield! I never thought it would be so hard to adjust to a slower paced life. Usually, it seems to be the other way around.

I am impressed with our children. They don’t miss a beat. They love the snow, love their new life, and I love that they are enjoying this new chapter in our lives. So far we have been sledding and have had a few snowball fights. These are the most exciting things that we’ve done and it has really been exciting! I forgot how much happier life is when you get out there and just live life. Stop worrying about what anyone else thinks and just go with it. Something my husband has tried to teach me these past 6 years. Funny it takes my 4 & 5 year olds, on a sled, to teach me that. 🙂

I really love it here. I miss our family and friends, but I really feel like this is where we are meant to be, at least for now. Our next step is to buy a property and build our dream home. We have plans to have a garden and farm animals. Our goal is to be off the grid, self-sufficient. We have no plans to hide out in our house, of course. We want our kids (and us) interacting with the outside world and we would love to explore more of the west coast. But we would love to have a place that is ours, a paradise we can call our own. Yes, living in northern Idaho can be a dream come true. Visit, you’ll see.

Finally, my first blog post! It’s taken me a week to write it. Hopefully, it won’t take me so long to write more and I’ll have exciting things to share.
So….WELCOME! 🙂

4 thoughts on “And the adventure begins….

  1. Ana and Family, I have held you dear in my heart and you have always amazed me. This made my day amongst some other things that reached my heart, I will cont. to read your blogs as you make progress on your move, its not an abnormal thing with all the moving you have done in your childhood, but in total amazement you & Jeff, show not only encouragement, but dreams most of us think about but never take the opportunity to do, God Bless you always, I love you all very much! And when you get time throw a snowball my way I may end up catching it, and thank you!

    • You are very dear to my heart too. Thank you for your encourgement and loving words. It has taken us 6 years to get to this point…to FINALLY be living our dreams. It’s not that we couldn’t of done it sooner, but I wasn’t stable enough to do it sooner. I was afraid to take that leap. To live life. I am so thankful for your love and support. I love you.

  2. I envy and admire you. My husband and I talk about doing the same thing. Packing our bags and moving to a slower-paced life. Maybe reading your blog will really inspire me to do it!

    • thank you. It took us a long time to get to the point of saying “ok, let’s go”. My husband has been ready for this almost since the day we were married. I was scared, to be honest. But I always dreamed of living in a small town and I love it here. I am really happy we made this move! I looked at it this way…..if it didn’t work out, we could always go back to Florida. But at least we tried and made memories with our kids.

Leave a Reply

