The Day I Married My Best Friend

Jeff and I were married on August 24, 2004. We eloped….after 1 month & 1 day of dating 🙂 We were sitting at the beach one night watching the lightning on the water and he said, “Wouldn’t it be cool to get married in the keys?”.

We were hitched a week later!

We were going to get married on the 23rd, but then we were told that we had to take a 3 hour marriage course or wait three days. We chose the marriage course. We were counseled on the morning of the 24th and @ 7:30 p.m. we were married!

The only witnesses we had were a friend of mine and her boyfriend. She took the pictures and he took the video. We HAD to have proof! I called her last-minute and asked if she could take pictures. So thankful for her! Now I wish we would’ve had a picture taken with them. Dang!

Jeff bought my bouquet a couple of hours before our wedding. It took us a week to plan our wedding and it only cost us $1,000.  We were married on Longboat Key at The Colony Beach and Tennis Resort. The Colony was where we had our first date.

We thought we would have to get married in the rain, as it had stormed on and off all day. Just before the ceremony, the sky opened up and we had a beautiful beach wedding.

The pastor had this tradition for ceremonies performed on the beach. To have the couple each take a handful of sand and pour it into a glass or container…a symbol of us becoming one. We forgot to bring something, so he asked for a wine glass from the restaurant. We still have the glass and sand and my bouquet.

We were not pregnant, just in LOVE!

3 thoughts on “The Day I Married My Best Friend

  1. Awww Ana! This is so cute and spontaneously romantic! Not gonna lie, I probably wouldve thought you were crazy, but obviously the joke would’ve been on me! I love the pictures and the story. 6 years later and 3 beautiful munchkins later and I guess 1 month and a day was a magical combo!

  2. Wow Ana! What an amazing story. I thought me and Brandon were the only crazy ones to get married so quick. We got married after only dating for about six weeks in 2004 also. Who says love doesn’t endure all. Love the pics! You guys are such an amazing couple. Wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

